Technique, Reading & Theory

Back Next

The Chromatic Scale

While the musical alphabet contains seven letters, the musical language contains twelve notes. We find these twelve notes from the seven letters of the musical alphabet and their respective sharps and flats. An enharmonic is when a note can be called more than one name, such as F-sharp and G-flat. The chromatic scale contains all twelve notes of the musical language and can start from any note. Try playing it from each open string.

Sixth string

chromatic scale on sixth string notation

Fifth string

chromatic scale on fifth string notation

Fourth string

chromatic scale on fourth string notation

Third string

chromatic scale on third string notation

Second string

chromatic scale on second string notation

First string

chromatic scale on first string notation

Open position

The chromatic scale can also be played in each position. Here it is the open position:

chromatic scale in open position Back: Guitar geography Next: Building major scales